Pressing Tofu to Soak More Flavor

Green Curry Stir Fry

I recently have been reintroduced to tofu.  I used to hate it and point my nose up in the air if it ever neared my plate.  However, I have really grown to love it now!  After all these years, I guess tofu being forced on me at dinner time really paid off (thanks Mom!).  As I Googled (come on, we ALL do it!) tofu, and different ways of preparing it, I came across the same theme of pressing tofu.  At first I didn’t get why you would want to smash something so delicate, light, and fluffy-looking.  But as I read on, I learned that the more excess liquid you press out of tofu, the more flavor the tofu can absorb.  Ah! So essentially I’m eating a soy sponge… thanks Google! 🙂  I took out some tofu, placed it on a plate, took another plate to cover the tofu (think- plate sandwich with tofu in the middle), and placed a heavy book on top.  After 30 mins of “pressing” about 1/3 cup of liquid was produced!

On that note, I’ve been having a hankering for some curry, thanks to my good friend in Chicago that is constantly making this stuff!  I decided what better way to replace rice in this dish to soak up all that delicious curry flavoring!

Green Curry Tofu & Veggies

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon Green curry paste
  • 8 oz Light coconut milk
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • tofu, pressed and cut into cubes
  • mixed veggies
  • 1 teaspoon whole wheat flour

Recipe:

  • In a saute pan, combine the first 4 ingredients and bring to a boil
  • Reduce to medium heat and stir in flour to thicken
  • Add in mixed veggies and tofu
  • Carefully stir mixture to coat veggies and tofu, until veggies are cooked
One thought on “Pressing Tofu to Soak More Flavor

  1. Pingback: Day 5: Mexican Style Tofu | the misadventures of a cooking monster.. om nom!

Leave a Reply

